Andheri life….a walk to the ATM

6 Jun

Today something has changed in the air…..the sun is not shining through the clouds and small drops of rain comes at times….the air is thick and humid, awaiting the rain…it”s a very powerful feeling, mother nature has us all in her grip.

Today as I went to the local ATM machine located ca 400 meters away I snapped along and chatted to the neighbors,  It does take a bit of time and effort to walk anywhere here, but it is worth the walk!

I’ll show you the way from our house to the main street and the ATM….

The view from our street, the slum or as they locally call it here “Wadi” the wadi is called Joseph Patel wadi,or “JP “wadi, this is where Ravi and Sheshi lives

Kids playing cricket in the field between the street and JP Wadi

The amount of garbage piled up at the field is appalling, I have never seen any garbage trucks coming to clean it up, it seems its a forgotten area

Next comes the local dairy farm, they deliver fresh milk  every morning to our door in a small plastic bag they hang outside our door.
As you pass by you see people coming to feed the cows. According to Hindu religion its considered good karma to feed the holiest of animals, the cow. (At first I thought people we’re just being nice and gave their leftovers but no…….)

Taking a break from working on the road…….

The road turns lush and green…behind the walls on both sides there are of bushes, trees and birds chatter….I can’t wait to see it in the monsoon!

Picking mangoes!

Coming out to the main street

Men sit here all day long hoping to get work…they sip chai, smoke, play cards and talk….

Main road..

Other side of road, which I now have to cross (How to do that is another story of its own!!)

Old random magazines for sale……

Local tailor!

40 minutes later I’m back home again, sweaty, with dirty feet and happy!

Mumbai Meri jaan !

10 Responses to “Andheri life….a walk to the ATM”

  1. neevaN June 19, 2012 at 4:56 pm #

    The image of the girl peeking through the blue door is nice

    • bombaysun June 20, 2012 at 12:07 pm #

      yes i think so too, she’s a beautiful girl

  2. marilay July 6, 2012 at 6:19 am #

    Wow! I feel like I am in India! Thank you! I usually love pictures of daily life in India! All these people smiling at you are very moving. My favourite picture is the taylor. He looks quite refined and elegant. The two workers sitting are very nice too.
    All those people look so kind!

    • bombaysun July 6, 2012 at 6:54 am #

      Thanks again! 🙂
      Yeah, i get the feeling too, everyone’s so nice, hard working and friendly. The two young workers are the sweetest, they are quite shy and didn’t want me to photograph them first, as I returned on my way home they agreed, they look so bashful and shy and sweet 🙂
      You should come and visit for yourself!

      • marilay July 6, 2012 at 3:59 pm #

        I have been to Rajasthan once but it was too short! I’ll try to convince my friends to return next year.
        Bye!

  3. india September 12, 2012 at 7:53 am #

    Nice blog with lots of beautiful images. It was like a treat, I loved it.

    • bombaysun September 15, 2012 at 10:07 am #

      Thanks a million! Will try to update some more soon xx

      • alexindelhi September 15, 2012 at 12:49 pm #

        I will look forward to it!

      • bombaysun September 24, 2012 at 1:07 pm #

        Thank you Alex! Am going to an ashram soon for 6 weeks so will be more quiet but will have a lot to say when i get back xx

      • AlexinDelhi September 24, 2012 at 1:35 pm #

        No issues, I will wait for you to return, hopefully with some more pictures and stories to tell. Wish you have good time there.

Leave a comment